Back to All Events

Use of Circulating Fluidized Bed Combustion for Lignite & Low Quality Fuels

Mikko Matilainen, Sumitomo SHI FW, Webinar, Free Webinar, Fuel Flexibility, CFB, Lignite, Webcast Experts

OVERVIEW

New York: 5:00 AM | London: 9:00 AM | Berlin: 10:00 AM | Helsinki: 11:00 AM | Istanbul: 12:00 PM | New Delhi: 2:30 PM | Hanoi: 4:00 PM

In many markets, power producers are constantly faced with growing pressures to generate low cost power from solid fuels. As a result, power producers are increasingly looking to take maximum advantage of locally mined low-quality coals and lignite that are easily available at significantly lower prices. For example, Turkey, one of the fastest growing economies with over 10 GT of proven domestic lignite reserves has found lignite to be a feasible alternative compared to imported coals, for large-scale electricity production. Another example is India which is following suit.

Now offering Certificates of Completion for all our Webinars.

Circulating fluidized bed (CFB) combustion is the only commercial technology with a proven track record of reliably and efficiently burning lower quality fuels, such as the lignite found in Turkey, India, Thailand and other emerging power markets. Conventional pulverized coal (PC) boilers struggle to operate reliably when burning fuels of inconsistent quality because of their inflexible design. Processing lignite with its high levels of moisture and ash using conventional PC technology means designing oversized boilers, high sootblowing requirements, elevated plant capital and operating costs, and decreased reliability. CFB technology with its benefits of high efficiency, availability, exceptional fuel flexibility and low emissions, avoids all these pitfalls, resulting in reduced costs and higher reliability. This is particularly noteworthy, when burning low heat content lignite that features high ash and high moisture that is abundant in many power markets.

Turkey’s Soma Kolin Power Plant is a successful case study where CFB technology has been leveraged to reliably and efficiently burn low quality lignite. CFB technology with its inherent benefits was the best choice for tapping into Turkey’s vast lignite reserves. The success at Soma Kolin is an important, encouraging example for Turkey as well as other countries with large resources of low quality coals and lignites such as India, Germany, Thailand and Pakistan to further leverage locally available low quality indigenous fuels for secure, affordable and clean power.

In this informative webinar, Mikko Matilainen, Chief Engineer, Systems Engineering for Sumitomo SHI FW, will describe the design features, technical, and economic benefits of Sumitomo SHI FW’s CFB technology compared to conventional PC boiler technology specifically when firing low quality fuels.  Topics discussed will include:

  • How CFB provides high reliability, low maintenance, cost effectiveness, and low emissions
  • Size and Scalability considerations of CFBs designed for lignite as primary fuel from industrial to large-scale utility boilers, up to scale 600 to 800 MWe
  • An updated review of design of some of the largest and most lignite-powered CFB plants worldwide
  • Design and operation of the longest running lignite-powered repowering project (3 X 262 MW) Turow, Poland
  • Design of the largest CFB powerplant in Turkey, the 2 x 255 MWe Soma Kolin Power Plant (slated for commissioning in 2018)
  • How utilization of low quality coals and lignite enhance plant competitiveness by taking full advantage of global fuel arbitrage potential enabled by CFB
  • Multi pollutant emission control and capture of HCl, HF, Hg, and NH3, BREF limits compliance and economics

Attendees can ask specific questions which will be covered during the Q&A session of the webinar.

Who Should Attend

  • Utilities and Independent Power Producers & Developers
  • Architecture and Engineering Companies
  • Asset Managers and Power Plant Owners
  • EPC Companies
  • Fuel Managers
  • Environmental Specialists

 

PRESENTER

Mikko Matilainen, Sumitomo SHI FW, Webinar, Free Webinar, Fuel Flexibility,CFB, Lignite, Webcast Experts

Mikko Matilainen Chief Engineer, Systems Engineering |  Sumitomo SHI FW

Mikko Matilainen Chief Engineer, Systems Engineering of Sumitomo SHI FW. Having worked within the Sumitomo SHI-FW organization since 2001 serving in several commercial and engineering functions.  He is currently positioned in Varkaus, Finland, where he heads up the Systems Engineering Department.